A Quick Summary of Spiritual Evolution

A personal brand of Spiritual Atheism

I come from a group, different from any group I have ever known, a group of one, me. I believe that the earth and all visible matter is not illusory, but a place of learning.  I’ll get into the “for whom” later. For now let us just say that whatever this third dimension (fourth if you include time, but for me time is just another measurement, an invention to explain how matter is able to change and NEVER return to the same state in the same combination of the same atomic particles ever again in our personal reality, and is therefore not a dimension) is made of, it is real enough because we can use our senses to perceive that some things remain the same for certain lengths of time, while other things, including ourselves, can change depending on what kinds of forces are exerted upon us. In simple language, the universe is real, and we living beings are journeyers through it.

But that begs the question, where do we journeyers come from, where are we going, and why. My philosophy, constructed by myself with help from Albert Hoffman, Tibetan Buddhism, Richard Dawkins, Charles Darwin, and all kinds of people whose names or group affiliations I will probably never know, Sylvia Miller (my sister, a member of the Mormon faith), and a science fiction writer whose name, I believe, is James Blish, but I could be wrong. I will try to list what each of the above people or groups contributed to the building and clarification of my philosophy:

  • James Blish (or S.F. counterpart) – for giving me the designation “first life”
  • Tibetan Buddhism – the first real explanation of reincarnation I found, which I expanded on greatly
  • Albert Hoffman – inventor of LSD, which broke down the locked doors in my mind
  • Charles R. Darwin – Discoverer of “Evolution, ” but who never looked at evolution of the spirit
  • Richard Dawkins – who wrote “The Blind Watchmaker” and and gave me a feasible theory for the start of life upon our planet
  • Sylvia Miller – my sister, who asked me the simplest question of all, in all seriousness, “So what is it you DO believe in?” and I said to her aloud for the first time “Spiritual Atheism, and Responsible Anarchy.”
  • and, of course, myself, a common man known as rawgod, who took all the above clues and amalgamated them into what I believe is a consistent and viable alternative to all the great (and not so great) scientists, and philosophers, and whomever took part in disseminating their theories to the public world, where I could study them at my leisure.

Following is the story of my beliefs, from alpha to psi. I have yet to reach omega:

The Big Bang produced a living baby who spent billions of earth years in a form of solitary confinement deprived of all sensory perception until Dawkins’ crystals caught its attention, and it saw that those crystals could never achieve life until life was injected into them. But that was like a newborn baby on Earth finding a toy irresistible to play with despite not understanding the toy, or not even knowing that there was an “I” to play with that toy. In other words Big Bang Baby knew no awareness of any kind, except that the toy was fun.

Meanwhile, First Life started to put a tiny wee bit of itself into each crystal, thus providing the crystal with the previously missing force called life, and immediately the newly formed crystal came to life, and with help from that force realized life did not come without conditions, what I call the Three Prime Directives of life, for which I have no basis other than seeing these directives in most species of life around me:

1) to live as long as it can

2) to procreate as much as it can

3) to progress, or advance, or evolve into something better than it is

These one-celled beings ruled the earth for another billion or so years, then accidentally created a two-celled being where each original cell took up one purpose, that of eating, and that of eliminating the useless residue. This began the era of “cell specialization,” which has advanced and evolved into the animals and plants that live somewhere on earth today, making up all the living beings that have evolved from their very humble beginnings.

Also, for those beings that take note of such things, natural evolution is not the only kind of evolution there is. There is also a definite line you can follow called “spiritual evolution.” It is a long line to follow through the one-celled, two-celled, and even the many-celled beings that struggled through the billions of years of learning to make specialized cells for all kinds of uses, yet the evidence suggests that spiritual evolution at least kept pace with natural evolution, sometimes just behind it, sometimes just ahead. And I state this because all the while, the spirits that first inhabited the crystals that turned into living beings brought valuable bits if information back to First Life when they died. This was reincarnation’s finest hour, because the information that they brought back to the source of all life in the universe, eventually gave awareness to First Life that it was indeed alive too. And that it had a spirit, and that its spirit could grow. Try reading “The Source” by James Michener. or look into my blog at rawgodsspiritualatheism.wordpress.com. You will find there a much expanded version of some of the things I have discussed here tonight. Alternatively you can go to http://www.centerforabetterworld.com/SpiritualAtheism/spiritual-atheists.htm comment page, move order to newest first, and read my third comment down. Those two sites will give you the best insight into me and what I stand for.

In another person’s blog I was reading, that someone mentioned people taking responsibility for all parts of their lives, including civic responsibilities with the rest. I am sorry, but I don’t believe any form of government has the best intentions for all classes of people, including Canada and the States. No government has the concerns of all its citizens at heart, disregarding about 95% of its citizens, truth to be told. The only kind of responsibility that will work will come from our spiritual evolution, and that is responsible anarchy. That is what all spiritual atheists might strive for, dismantling the government in the land but not replacing it–for the first time in recorded history.

Author: rawgod

Still a Hippie, and proud of it. Have my BSW, now retired. Would have preferred to be a Dr. of Philosophy, but the university I went to wouldn't let me study my own philosophy. Your gain, their loss. I live on the edge of society with my partner, four cats, two kittens, a broodmare, and a two year-old filly who might make her racing debut this coming summer or fall. Remember the name, Tricksy T Clanton.

Leave a Reply

