Anti-Theism

Everyone has the same rights

The more postings I read on the Internet by supposed “atheists” leave me thinking these people are not atheists, but rather anti-theists. They seem to spend all their time arguing with believers-in-some-form-of-god OR writing about how there are so many mistakes in the Bible that it cannot be correct OR they just spend their time listing how superior they are to theists. I see no use in calling themselves atheists when they seem to have no conception of what their own atheism really means to them. Most of us mouth the words with hardly any breath behind it to say “Atheists are people who do not believe in God or gods.” Okay, if that is what they believe, why are so many of them prosthelytizing their atheism by running theists and theist literature down. I’ll admit I did the same thing when first I renounced religion and moved on to agnosticism and then atheism. But I didn’t do it for 40 years or so, I did it for maybe 6 months, and then I went on to find out what atheism means to me. Atheism looks for a more plausible story of creation, such as the Big Bang story where two cells came together as do a sperm and an ova, and a new life was created. That life is alive and living as our universe. No one knows where these two cells came from, but neither does a baby know it too started out when a sperm met an ova. Sounds plausible to me.

Atheism also believes in life. Life is that bit of magic, the one I call spirit, entering the rapidly growing body of the baby resulting from the sperm joining with the ova. It could be that our bodies are a universe within us. By comparing our bodies to the body called the universe, earthly life suggests that the universe too has a spirit, and that spirit has life. Perhaps our lives are directly joined to the universal life. Again, a very plausible story. Why reinvent the wheel?

And, if you believe in life, why not believe in the Three Prime Directives that seem to be part of every form of life we know. Every living being, every cell of every living being, seems to want to do three things:

1) Live as long as possible
2) Procreate as much as possible
3) Progress or advance as far as possible (dare I use the word “evolve?”

This is what atheism means to me. In fact, this is what Life means to me. That we (every living being in existence past, present, and future) are all joined as one being, the body of which is the universe we live in.

So, am I not saying I believe in a god, after all? No, definitely not, because the word God means many things, such as the creator, the ruler of the earth if not the universe, a being who knows the fall of a sparrow (and every time you kill a mosquito or a spider, or every one of God’s creations that some hunter slaughters for the joy of it), a being who creates disasters or kills children to teach us a lesson, and whatever else Gods are supposed to do. The life that inhabits my universe does none of these things, for it is barely rational yet. What it knows is what we embodied spirits know, which isn’t very much when you look at all the knowledge that must exist in our universe. All we know is what happens on earth, and a bit of what happens in our solar system. Hell, we don’t even know if Pluto is a planet, a moon, an asteroid, a dead superdreadnaught space vehicle captured by the gravity of our sun as it harmlessly passed our solar system, or an animated dog named Pluto by Walt Disney or one of his cronies. Beyond our solar system we speculate that we know things like galaxies and quasars, but we don’t Know them. They might in fact be lights coming through holes the size of pinpricks in a great huge canopy that encloses our solar system to keep us from contaminating the rest of our universe. We just don’t know, so neither does the being that is the universe. It isn’t a god, it is just a living being like us, exactly like us.

Maybe the universal body has the potential to become a god, I don’t know, and it doesn’t know, but I doubt that, or we would all have to be gods to all the living beings that live on planets in star systems in galaxies in the universes that are each of us. It stands to reason. And it even agrees with one of the first assertions of the Bible, that man is made in the likeness of God. Could be, I guess?

But that still does not explain anti-theism. Theists have the same rights as any atheist, to believe what they want, to do what they want, to exist and procreate and evolve if they want. So why are we bothering them with our “we are better than you” attitudes. No, all of us are on a journey called life, and some have progressed farther than others, and things like viruses and bacteria are just coming to life on earth for the very first time, to keep on advancing our numbers as they come into being, live as long as they can, procreate as much as they can, and evolve as far as they can. I say let them be, we once stood where they now stand, and they will stand where we presently stand. Some of them will even surpass us someday, because not all people evolve at the same rate, and some will see what we cannot see right now, where the original Big Bang Baby came from, or is going to. Those are my mysteries of life, and I don’t expect to know the answers in this lifetime.

rawgod

Author: rawgod

Still a Hippie, and proud of it. Have my BSW, now retired. Would have preferred to be a Dr. of Philosophy, but the university I went to wouldn't let me study my own philosophy. Your gain, their loss. I live on the edge of society with my partner, four cats, two kittens, a broodmare, and a two year-old filly who might make her racing debut this coming summer or fall. Remember the name, Tricksy T Clanton.

4 thoughts on “Anti-Theism”

  1. Interesting take on a philosophical conundrum. Anti this, anti that, it all might make sense if people would make the effort learn the vocabulary of the topic. I am one of those anti-theist so ask away.

    Like

    1. ” Oh ya and a screaming, raving, hair on fire anti-theist. Any agitation people experience from reading his thoughts is intended to make people question their foundational beliefs.”

      Which persuasion are you, Ron, agnostic, atheist, or just straightforward anti-theist? And how or why did you choose to be a screaming, raving anti-theist? What happened in your past to take you in this direction? Anger, frustration, or hope? And I am not sure who you were talking to about not knowing the vocabulary of the topic. I don’t care if you are talking about me, I am just now learning that atheism is a normal internet topic. I ran into so few of them in real life, all of whom told me I cannot be an atheist because I believe in life-after-death so I never got to know them very well. I am a spiritual atheist and proud of it. I obviously also believe in life-before-birth, or what would be the purpose of l-a-d?

      But that’s me. You invited me to ask some questions, so I will.

      1) In the above quote you talk about foundational beliefs. I presume that is related in some was to my second blog topic, “Who Are You…” where the first step towards discovering yourself if to question every belief you have in life, a pretty daunting task. The thing is, I would not expect a theist to even try my direction to question their beliefs because they are happy being theists, and are not ready to turn away from their “god.” Nor should they even try, losing even a part of their faith could cause a break with reason, and they could go postal or whatever. It could easily be followed straight to whoever is trying to get them to lead directly as one of us being the cause of someone dying, and certainly that is not our purpose.
      I think it is very necessary to be aware of where a person is on their spiritual journey, because that tells you if change is possible.

      So, where are you on your spiritual journey? Do you know? Do you care?

      If you are atheist, what does that mean to you? Do you think atheists can be grouped together? Is it religion-like, where people come together and agree on what they believe?

      It is my belief that every atheist is on their own, no two people believing exactly the same.

      Sorry, gotta go. Will be awaiting your reply.

      rawgod

      Like

      1. What I am is a 68 year old family man that has lived a privileged middle class life. My world view has been forged by my life’s experiences. I perceive myself as an Everyman. I would prefer for my prodigy to inherit a healthy planet peopled by Homo Sapiens who place a high priority in the husbandry of our shared home. A world with a healthy cultural symbiosis of natural resources and evolving technology fortified by stable governing institutions. A society that places the betterment of our human condition as it’s prime directive. A world that values education and life long learning. Somewhere in my fantasy timeline we become comfortable with what it really means to be a species with all the baggage that ensues. It comes as close to answering the big questions as we’re gonna get.

        Words are sounds we make to convey meaning. There are words, and atheism is one, that’s meaning is the opposite of what the perceiver internalizes. It’s the (ism) part. People think it’s a belief system like other ism’s. It is not. It is the rejection of an assertion or claim of the existence of a god.

        Spiritual journey? Got no idea, but if you go on one send a reply with pix.

        Like

  2. I commend you, sir, on your courage to fight for the future of this world. However, I do not see how anti-theism plays any part in what it is you are hoping to accomplish. If anything, I would expect you to be anti-Republic of America because your government, what with the Donald countermanding and showing no respect for what Obama succeeded at, or tried to succeed at, to make our world more to your liking. Trump, meanwhile, seems to have little idea of what he wants, being more reactionary than progressive. He is certainly keeping the terrorist issue front and center, and this scares me about what he is doing behind closed doors and away from the public eye. This is what worries me.
    Many theists, on the other hand, as well as many agnostic and atheists want exactly the same thing as you, so I do not understand your attacking of any of these groups. Perhaps you could explain your reasoning to me.
    As it is you could be starting a grassroots group who think similarly to you, and start to make some stronger noise and arguments for preserving the future of humanity and the place where it lives. Mind you, I hope you are not forgetting any of the creatures, plant and animal, who help keep our ecology running as smoothly as possible. One species alone cannot run a planet, it takes millions of different and important beings to preserve the future. And our educators, instead of teaching our children how to be cogs in the wheels of big industry and big business. Stop the tobacco companies and the alcohol companies, weapons manufacturers, etc from being responsible for ruining our home.
    Being anti-theist in this area is like being a person trying to commit suicide, with no one caring why. In order to succeed you need to be alive, and gaining as many followers as you can.

    Your comment on sending you pix of me on my spiritual journey could possibly turn off those people who can see a totally different kind of future for not only this planet, but for the whole universe, which the earth is an integral part of. You can laugh at us all you want, but we have our separate visions of how the planet can be saved for the long-term future, and not just for a few centuries. You are correct when you say atheism is not a group movement, yet we are an army that leads itself. We move are in the same direction to the sounds of different drummers, but the important thing is we advancing alone together. There are as many paths to our goal as there are people who reaching for them, but that does not make any path wrong, just different, and at least one of those paths will succeed, and once success is visible for one, it will become visible to all.

    Thank you for listening and reading my blog

    My best to you,
    rawgod

    Like

Leave a Reply

