Experimenting with Reincarnation

Designing an experiment to demonstrate reincarnation

Purpose of the Experiment

I propose to demonstrate how my theory of reincarnation works by using earthly objects and utensils.

Hypothesis

By adding controlled amounts of water colour powders to a tablespoon of water, then adding the water to a swimming pool of clear water, the paint should hardly make an effect to the colour of the water in the pool at the beginning, but in time should discolour the water, and ultimately make it impossible to see the bottom of the pool while floating face down in that pool.

Materials

  1. 1 regulation size swimming pool filled to the very top with clear  water
  2. 50 pails of various colours of  water paint powders
  3. 1 tablespoon
  4. 1 1/8 teaspoon
  5. an unending supply of test tubes with storage racks of some kind
  6. a microscope
  7. empty ledgers entitled Reincarnation Experiment Book I, Book II, etc
  8. sufficient pens to complete the record-keeping till the end of the experiment

Method

Preperation: Setting the controls–Using the tools at hand, count the number of particles of each colour of the paint powders in 1/8th of a teaspoon of powder and mark them in the ledger. Standing at a corner of the shallow end of the pool, remove 1 tablespoon of water from the swimming pool, put it in a test tube, and check it under the microscope for paint particles. There should be no sign of paint particles in the water. This water sample and the number of particles of paint in each colour of powdered paint will be your control samples.

Conducting the experiment–Remove 1 tablespoon of water from the swimming pool. Add  1/8 of a teaspoon of water paint powder, letting it dissolve, then replacing the tablespoon of water in the swimming pool. Wait until the paint disperses into the water. Repeat as necessary using a different colour of paint powder each time until all the 50 paint colours have been used once. Walk to the diagonal corner of the pool and remove 1 tablespoon of water into a test tube. Examine this water from the test tube to see if it contains any paint particles. In the ledger write down the number of particles, if any. Next assign the sample a clarity rating between transparent and opaque. Store the test tube and sample adjacent to the control sample. Note in the ledger if you can see a difference between the two adjacent test tubes. Repeat the complete process until the water is judged to be opaque at the diagonal corner where the test samples are taken , and draw a line under the last entry, noting the number of paint particles and colours in the final sample.

Completing the experiment–Count the number of test tube samples and compare that to the number of entries in the ledgers to ensure they are equal. Divide the total numbers of particles of each colour used in the experiment into the total number of particles of every colour used.This will give you the ratio of each colour used in the experiment. Compare the ratio of particles of each colour found in the final sample to the ratio of the total number of particles of each colour used in the experiment. Is there any correlation between them? What conclusion might you draw about how each colour spread throughout the swimming pool?

Making it real–Starting from a Tibetan viewpoint of reincarnation, it is believed, and has been for many centuries, that life exists on more than one plane, in more than one dimension. The life there is not human life, nor a godly life but a storehouse of sorts for spirits after they complete their life on earth.

I was brought up a Christian, as a believer in Christ, and for the first ten years of my life I never questioned it. Then little doubts began to creep in, questions that I asked of those older and supposedly wiser than me. Listening to the radio, reading newspapers, and watching TV made me wonder how anyone could live such a perfect life that they weren’t bound for hell. My main Sunday school teacher was a man who made money by paying men to work for him, but he kept more money than the total of the amount he paid his employees. To me that was called greed. There were men who got drunk every weekend , then came home and beat up their wives and children. Surely god would not want them in his heaven. In fact, the Bible tells the stories of a god that ruled with an iron fist, demanding to be worshipped, and killing or maiming those who did not worship him. So it was written, so I believed. I started to look, first at other Christian faiths, then at other religions who had other gods, or had different names for god, or bunches of gods living lives of ease while the humans they supposedly ruled had hardly anything to eat, or enough water to drink. It seemed to me like everyone was bound for hell, no matter what they said or did on Sundays, because there were six other days when it seemed they did not give a whit of how they lived their lives. I learned a word for that: hypocrisy. Everyone I knew was a hypocrite, and I wanted no part in such a religious monstrosity.

So I started looking elsewhere, and came across a series of books on Tibetan Buddhism. I didn’t know much more about it than I could find to read, but it made much more sense than anything else I had encountered. Especially attractive to me was the theory of Reincarnation. Instead of having just one life–one chance–to make it to heaven or be sent to hell, that idea struck me like a ton of feather-down  pillows. But these people had no hell, all they had was nirvana, a place you were sent when you lived a good life, and it was your reward for persevering all your incarnations until you finally got it right. (At least that was how I understood that in my middle teen-age years.) I began to study more about reincarnation when the Beatles changed the face of the world, and as soon as I turned the legal age to leave home if I so wanted, I gave myself my best birthday present ever, and left home. This word did not exist at that time, but I couch-surfed for a number of months, and tried to go to school to finish my education. That didn’t last long, as I grew my hair long, and started listening to what was called “underground music,” and I heard songs of other people who thought like me, and they were all flocking to the west coast. I packed a few clothes, and walked about ten miles to where the highway west began, and I stuck out my thumb. 34 hours later, and a few misadventures behind me, I reached Vancouver, and immediately fell in with a group of people who slept in abandoned houses by night, and panhandled all day to buy food for everyone to eat. Eventually I was offered some marijuana to smoke, nothing like the potency of today’s marijuana, and instead of getting “stoned,” I got “high” in the sense that I could think better and clearer about my budding belief system. Well, maybe I was stoned too, but each time I smoked grass I felt my consciousness raising higher and higher. Then someone else gave me some acid (LSD) and my consciousness soared. When the book Jonathan Livingstone Seagull came out a few years later, I knew exactly how Jonathan felt, flying higher and higher, faster and faster.

And then it happened. One night while high on acid I broke through the barrier in my mind, and I symbolically  rode the Silver Cord to the place where dead spirits go. Only I wasn’t dead, I was totally aware of my body back on earth, and I knew something was happening that I was very privileged to see. It was the most beautiful place I had ever encountered, sight, sound, presence, without gravity, and without time as I knew it.  And then a voice, my voice, said to me, “_____ ______ ______ , you are here before your time. You have two choices, remain here and become one with us, or return to earth to your body.?” I never even thought about it, I returned back to earth and found the hole in my mind I had exited through. My body was busy repairing it, and I barely got through before the hole was fixed. I don’t want to know what would have happened if I had been two seconds later.

I returned to that place of beauty one more time, sort of like an experiment to see if I could duplicate the event, and I did, but my way into My Home was blocked, and I was sent back to earth with the warning, your next time will be your last. Use your life wisely. For the next month I walked around happy to the point of being giddy. Nothing bothered me, everyone was my friend and sibling,  and somewhere in my mind was information I absorbed while in that place, and I had only to look for it and I would find it.

But that proved harder than I thought it could be, and I took 30 or more years to finally begin to understand. During those years I came close to death many times, being run off the road while riding a bicycle down a mountain road, the car that did it speeding off ahead and not stopping to see if they had killed me. Falling asleep while driving alone on the highway, and waking up with barely enough time to avoid the semi-trailer coming at me, close enough to see the truck driver was still sound asleep too. Losing control on an east coast highway, with just enough of a grass median to spin around three or four times without entering the oncoming traffic lane. Being down in San Diego in the Old City populated only by Mexicans, most of whom probably did not have green cards. I was walking down a sidewalk, not knowing anyone was around, when an arm reached around my head, and I could feel the razor sharpness of the knife blade being held against my carotid artery, one second away from death, until I told the attacker I was a Canadian, and I was just walking around admiring the architecture of the houses. Next thing I knew I was getting a guided tour while the very friendly young man steered me out of Old City and back into a nearby park that formed the boundary between life and death for some people. And there were other times I have forgotten about, but as near as I came to death, something or someone always came to my rescue. I think most of the time it was me protecting myself.

But getting back to reincarnation, it is impossible for me not to  believe it exists, not having seen what I have seen, experienced what I have experienced, changed in so many positive ways that there has to be a purpose for it, and a purpose for life in general.

Author: rawgod

Still a Hippie, and proud of it. Have my BSW, now retired. Would have preferred to be a Dr. of Philosophy, but the university I went to wouldn't let me study my own philosophy. Your gain, their loss. I live on the edge of society with my partner, four cats, two kittens, a broodmare, and a two year-old filly who might make her racing debut this coming summer or fall. Remember the name, Tricksy T Clanton.

Leave a Reply

