About Reincarnation

dedicated to CynthiaAP, may the Filipinos see you for who and what you really are, and know how special you are

What I am about to talk about is how I see the way the universe works. I’m pretty sure you will see things differently, because while we occupy physical bodies I believe we all walk different paths towards the same goal–growing a better universe.

I have spoken about spiritual evolution, and I may have mentioned I have been alive since life came to be in this universe, but I do not think I have yet explained how these things are possible. And my answer is “through reincarnation.” Unfortunately, most Westerners (European-based cultures) do not have a very good understanding of how reincarnation works. For that matter, people born in the Orient don’t necessarily understand it either. But they believe in it, so that puts them way ahead of the rest of us. But I have come to understand reincarnation differently than most Oriental philosophies and/or religions understand it.

For starters, karma cannot exist in my philosophy.. It is a great idea for karma to exist to explain the luck of the draw, either good or bad. But when you come right down to it, you may as well be saying “It is the will of God” in place of saying “it’s just your karma.” Karma, if you are not familiar with the term, is a Buddhist belief that the product of your actions, your speech, and your ideas or thoughts from past lives affect your present and future lives. In my understanding of reincarnation, there is absolutely no carryover between incarnations, the link is so tenuous as to be non-existent. There is not one spirit that dies and is then reborn, but a spirit that mixes with  a great pool of spirits and becomes one with them, and when a rebirth is about to happen a small bit of the one big spirit pool detaches itself and enters the body of whatever being it is that is being born. So, though I hate to disagree with His Holiness the Dalai Lama, in this idea I must. Since much of what I believe has come from Tibetan Buddhism, that was just my jumping off point. I was The Fool, number 0 of the major arcana of the Tarot card deck, starting on a journey by stepping off a cliff, not knowing where I was going, or if I would ever get there.

I don’t know if I got “there,” but I got somewhere, and I like it here, though I will be unable to stay much longer. But while I am here, I would like to share my learning with someone, for what is the use of learning something if you take it to the grave with you.  Which is why I am writing this blog, and why I write on LiveReal.com.

So, I do believe in reincarnation, but I do not believe in Karma. I do believe in Life, but I do not believe in any kind of god. To read what I have just written, I should feel like I am trapped inside some kind of paradox,  but I don’t, because I’m not. Life, once you understand it, is actually a very simple thing. You live. You learn. You die. And then you return to the Self you really are, where you mix the wisdom you have learned into the undefinable pool of beings that makes up the real you, and the real me., and you advance the universe just that one iota more, and it makes you so happy to have been of service. Then, as you sink into the collection of beings that contain the life force, you forget you were ever anything else, or anyone else. And you realize how little you still know, how little our collective knows, and you are one with all life like you have always been, and always will be.

This life force is not heaven, hell, nirvana or paradise, as I have said before. It is more like a staging area, or a muster point. From this pool comes all spiritual life, and the spiritual life enters the physical body , wherever that physical body is, whatever that physical body is, and it all starts again.

Author: rawgod

Still a Hippie, and proud of it. Have my BSW, now retired. Would have preferred to be a Dr. of Philosophy, but the university I went to wouldn't let me study my own philosophy. Your gain, their loss. I live on the edge of society with my partner, four cats, two kittens, a broodmare, and a two year-old filly who might make her racing debut this coming summer or fall. Remember the name, Tricksy T Clanton.

Leave a Reply

