Spiritual Atheism (Revised Edition)

I believe there is no god, but that there is a form of life after death.

Spiritual Atheism. To say it sounds like a contradiction in terms, what is called an oxymoron. Two words that negate each other. Something said by, please pardon the language, a moron breathing too much oxygen. But if that’s what it is, then that is what I am calling myself: a moron breathing too high a rate of oxygen to the point of confusing myself.

However, I am not confused at all. I do not believe in any deity or group of deities, God, a pantheon of Gods such as almost every religion started out with, or any kind of being who knows all, sees all, and demands to be worshipped.  A superbeing who kills babies to teach its parents a lesson. An all-pervasive, all-persuasive, all-interfering being who cares so little for his flock he allows millions of people to die horrible, untimely deaths, and then expects the survivors to say “It was God’s will. He has to have a plan to do something like that.”

No caring ruler could ever come up with such a plan. We are alive on earth to learn some kind of lesson that will make us better people, that will make the universe a better place to be. Such a god would supposedly know what the lesson is that is to be learned, and if it already knows it, why not just tell us, and save us from the horrors, the lifetimes of guilt, the neuroses and psychoses that often turn well-meaning people into people who cannot stand the punishment, and end up taking their own lives for something they did not do or ask to have done to them. What possible lessons can be gained from such enigmatic disasters as earthquakes, tidal waves. hurricanes and tornadoes, etc? That life is worthless? That our lives and deaths are already planned for us, so it doesn’t matter if we learn the lessons at all? Or to teach our descendants, the children of those left alive, and their children that we shouldn’t oughta have done that? And all that is ignoring what the people who died so horribly must have done to deserve such fates. No! It is impossible for me to believe that such a being has control over anyone’s and everyone’s lives, not to mention my life. Can you believe I grew up Christian? I must be out of my mind to stop believing in such a God… Or is it God who is out of its mind…?

How about I ask you a different question, one that sits in the middle of those two possibilities? What if there is a God, but it doesn’t know what it is doing, or what is being done in its name? Would it then still be called a God? Is a believer in this kind of a god to be called a theist or an atheist? A theist believes in a God of some kind who provides some kind of life after death. An atheist does not believe in a god of any kind, and that there is nothing after death. And here is where spiritual atheism takes root. I believe there is no god, but yet there is life after death.

For me, if there is no life after death, then living itself is worthless. We would just be some kind of entertainment for invisible viewers, television or movies on a grand stage. Murder dramas mixed with comedies mixed with soap operas mixed with war scenes and an incredible number of sex scenes. Add your own kind of television show or movie theme to my list. I’ve heard it said hundreds of times by hundreds of people, “I feel like I am on a stage, but with no scripts and no rehearsals, no directors or producers, no writers even. Just us, just the actors, going through the actions of pretend lives.” Is this how you feel, like whatever you do or don’t do is of no consequence?

To change topic for just a moment, there are many different forms of Buddhism, but where Buddhism started out as a philosophy of life, in many places it has taken on the qualities of a religion, mostly, I think, to combat those religions that use pomp and circumstance to try to convince adherents of other religious and philosophical beliefs that their religion is the only one that matters, that they own the One True God. Christianity in its several forms started out in one little corner of the world, and has spread in approximately 2000 years to every corner of our planet. It absorbs other religions and changes itself to adapt to the myths of the religions that it absorbs. If you want your religion or philosophy to survive, you have to fight fire with fire, and ceremonies and traditions are two of Christianity’s major weapons, not to mention the most powerful military machine in the world. That does not hinder its pandemic-like spread. So here we have , it has been approximated between 2 and 13% of the world’s population are atheists, sometimes counting agnostics in their numbers (people who are not sure which side of the fence to sit on), and between 87 and 98% of the world’s population believing in some form of god, visible or invisible.

And then there is me. And if there are others like me, which I’m sure there must be, the population of the world being now over 1 billion people, I have yet to meet one.To try to put my philosophy into as few of words as possible, only one word describes what I believe, and that word is “rawgod.” The being that is not now but someday might become god, if allowed to,  is a child, possibly a teenager by now, definitely not over 25 human years old, even though it was “born” (or came into existence) at least three billion years ago. This being is no superbeing in any stretch of the definition of a god, but a lonely being wanting company so desperately that it created life on Earth, and probably elsewhere, to prevent it from ever being alone again. In a future blog I will go into this birth and life much deeper, but I ask you right now to suspend your own imagination and see the world through my eyes.

Take a look around you and see what I see. Everywhere I look I see spiritual progress. Our ancestors worshipped trees and rocks and animals and weather, volcanoes, water, and gold.  (Read: http://www.urantia.org/urantia-book-standardized/paper-85-origins-worship for a concise version of how religions began by worshipping nature). Eventually they turned to pantheons of gods such as those on Mt. Olympus or in Bifrost. Slowly they evolved into worshipping the gods themselves, and finally the One True God. If this is not evolution I do not know what it is. And, amazingly enough, it parallels the evolution of man as a thinking being. (Also read James Michener’s The Source if you can still get hold of it.) As the mind grows, so does the spirit.

I am not sure how well I explained myself in this blog, so feel free to ask any questions of me. If they are of a general topic nature please ask them in the comment space. If they are of a more personal subject please send them to me at gewcolo@gmail.com, mark the subject line by the name of the Blog, and I will answer your questions as best I can. Thank you.

Author: rawgod

Still a Hippie, and proud of it. Have my BSW, now retired. Would have preferred to be a Dr. of Philosophy, but the university I went to wouldn't let me study my own philosophy. Your gain, their loss. I live on the edge of society with my partner, four cats, two kittens, a broodmare, and a two year-old filly who might make her racing debut this coming summer or fall. Remember the name, Tricksy T Clanton.

Leave a Reply

